Canadian Parliament Buildings Three images depicting the Maritime provinces of Canada: #1 Maritime village #2 Potato field #3 Seaport Three images depicting Quebec and Ontario:
#1 Toronto skyline #2 Lake in a provincial park #3 Quebec City skyline Three images depicting Western Canada
#1 Rocky Mountains #2 Vancouver skyline #3 Prairie farmland

Canada's federal electoral map is changing

Every 10 years, after the census is conducted, the number of electoral districts and their boundaries are revised to reflect population shifts and growth. Your electoral district – which is where you live and vote for your member of Parliament – may have changed as a result of the redistribution process.

Ten electoral boundaries commissions were established. They operated independently in each province to propose new boundaries, consult with Canadians and create the new electoral map for their province.

Commissions were not required for Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut since each territory is a single electoral district.

The 2012 redistribution exercise came to an end on October 1, 2013, when the Governor in Council proclaimed the new representation order. The order will come into force on the first dissolution of Parliament after May 1, 2014.