New Federal Electoral Map for Alberta
Tabled in the House of Commons

Calgary, Wednesday, December 12, 2012 — The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta has submitted its report redrawing the province's federal electoral map to the Chief Electoral Officer of Canada. The report was tabled in the House of Commons today.

The new electoral landscape of Alberta includes six additional electoral districts and reflects the population shifts and changes since the 2001 Census. All existing electoral boundaries in the province have changed, and the commission is satisfied that it has achieved a fair balance in its redistribution of Alberta's 34 electoral districts. The report follows the public hearings that took place across the province between September 10 and 25, 2012.

"The commission was impressed with the quality and thoughtfulness of the presentations at public hearings. The input was invaluable – it gave us information and local insight not otherwise readily available. Communication between the commission and the public is an example of democracy in action," stated the report released by the three-member commission.

To consult the report, visit www.federal‑


Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Alberta
Harry Hays Building
220 4th Avenue Southeast, Suite 168
Calgary, Alberta
T2G 4X3

Tel.: 1-855-747-7232 (toll-free)
Fax: 1-855-747-7234 (toll-free)

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.