Part I Initial Report to the House of Commons (December 18, 2012) – British Columbia – Conclusion


The final configuration of electoral districts throughout the Province of British Columbia has been greatly influenced by submissions received and presentations made at public hearings. While it is not possible to satisfy everyone, the Commission believes its final report provides for effective representation in all 42 electoral districts. The Commission has not made changes for the sake of change, but was required to redesign electoral districts to reflect the very considerable population growth in the province over the past 10 years. The Commission has sought, throughout, to give primacy to historical patterns of representation and communities of interest without sacrificing due regard for the electoral quota of 104,763.

The Commission wishes to pay tribute to those citizens and elected officials who took the time and effort to provide advice. This advice made the Commission more aware of perceived problems and local issues. It was a democratic process that measurably aided the Commission in its deliberations.

Two matters that are beyond its remit were the subject of several submissions and comments from presenters at the hearings. Firstly, there were recommendations about changing the present first-past-the-post electoral system to provide for some form of proportional representation. Secondly, the Commission received a number of submissions to either decrease or freeze the number of electoral districts throughout the country. These matters are for Parliament rather than this Commission to consider. With regard to the suggestion about numbers of districts, it seems to the Commission that it may be appropriate for Parliament to consider this issue at some convenient time with a view to avoiding a system that could in the future prove unwieldy and increasingly expensive.

The legal descriptions of the 42 electoral districts are given in Schedule B. Illustrative maps follow in the last section.

Dated at Vancouver, British Columbia, this 18th day of December, 2012.

(Original signed by)

Honourable Justice John E. Hall

(Original signed by)

Stewart Ladyman

(Original signed by)

Dr. J. Peter Meekison

CERTIFIED copy of the Report of the Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of British Columbia.

(Original signed by)

Susan McEvoy
Commission Secretary


Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.