Commission Redraws the Federal Electoral Map
of Newfoundland and Labrador

ST. JOHN'S, Friday, May 25, 2012 – The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Newfoundland and Labrador has proposed a new electoral map for consideration at public hearings this summer. The commission is proposing changes to the electoral boundaries in five of the seven districts allocated to the province.

The boundaries would be realigned to reflect growth and shift in population, current transportation links and shared community interests. The electoral districts of Labrador and St. John's South–Mount Pearl would remain unchanged.

"The Commission recognizes that many of the factors it considered, such as community of interest or identity and manageable geographic size, are open to differing views. We welcome submissions on these matters," said the Honourable Keith J. Mercer, chair of the three-member commission. Ms. Julie Eveleigh and Mr. Herbert Clarke are the other members of the commission responsible for readjusting the province's federal electoral boundaries.

The proposal takes into account Newfoundland and Labrador's increase in population from 512,930 in 2001 to 514,536 in 2011 and the population shift to the eastern part of the Avalon Peninsula, as captured in the census.

Under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, the commission's main aim in redrawing boundaries is to divide the province into electoral districts as close to the average population as reasonably possible. The population of a district should remain within 25% of the average once consideration is given to communities of interest or identity, and historical and geographic factors. A commission can depart from the 25% guideline to deal with extraordinary circumstances.

Public hearings

Residents of Newfoundland and Labrador are invited to share their views on the proposed federal electoral map at public hearings:

  • GANDER, Sinbad's Hotel, Tuesday, July 3, 2012 at 2:00 p.m.
  • GRAND FALLS-WINDSOR, Mount Peyton Hotel, Wednesday, July 4, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.
  • STEPHENVILLE, Holiday Inn, Thursday, July 5, 2012 at 2:00 p.m.
  • CORNER BROOK, Glynmill Inn, Friday, July 6, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.
  • CLARENVILLE, St. Jude Hotel, Monday, July 16, 2012 at 2:00 p.m.
  • WHITBOURNE, Lions Club, Tuesday, July 17, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.
  • CONCEPTION BAY SOUTH, Lions Club, Wednesday, July 18, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.
  • ST. JOHN'S, St. Teresa's Parish Hall, Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. and, if necessary, Friday, July 20, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.
  • HAPPY VALLEY-GOOSE BAY, Hotel North Two, Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 9:30 a.m.

Everyone is invited to attend. Those wishing to make a presentation at a hearing are requested to send the commission notice as soon as possible. All notices should be received by June 20.

Notices of presentation should include:

  • the person's name, address and contact information
  • the organization he/she represents (if any)
  • the date of the public hearing he/she wishes to attend
  • a short overview of the issue(s) he/she intends to address
  • the language of the presentation
  • any accommodation needs the person may have

Written notice can be sent by e-mail to or by mail to the address below. Alternatively, the Public Hearings Notice Form can be filled out online at under Newfoundland and Labrador > Public Hearings.

To obtain a copy of the commission's proposal or to learn more about the redistribution of federal electoral districts, visit


Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Newfoundland and Labrador
354 Water Street
P.O. Box 1835 St. John's C
St. John's, NL
A1C 5P9

1-855-726-4103 (toll-free)

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.