Meet Your Commission

The Honourable Keith J. Mercer (Chair)

Keith J. Mercer (Chair)

Born December 4, 1945. Educated at Memorial University of Newfoundland, Queen's University and the University of Oxford. Called to the Bar of Newfoundland in 1971. Public and private practice in Newfoundland, including as law clerk to House of Assembly; Associate Deputy Minister of Justice for Newfoundland; and partner at Stewart, McKelvey, Stirling, Scales. Appointed Queen's Counsel in 1984. Appointed Judge of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador (Trial Division) in 1992; appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2003. Past President, Canadian Association of Rhodes Scholars, 1993-1995.

Mr. Herbert Clarke (Member)

Herbert Clarke (Member)

Mr. Herbert Clarke has broad experience in both the public and private sectors in Newfoundland and Labrador, having served as deputy minister in several provincial government departments. He has also served on many boards and commissions, including the Government of Canada's Fisheries Resource Conservation Council (Chair), the Public Review Commission for the White Rose Offshore Oil and Gas Development Project (Commissioner), the Canadian Centre for Fisheries Innovation, the Memorial University School of Business Advisory Board, the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board, the Association of Seafood Producers (Chair), and the Joint Review Panel for the environmental assessment of the proposed Lower Churchill Hydroelectric Generation Project (Co-chair). He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Export Development Canada.

Ms. Julie Eveleigh (Member)

Julie Eveleigh (Member)

Ms. Julie Eveleigh has studied at Acadia University in Nova Scotia and Memorial University of Newfoundland. She retired in 2003 after a career with the Lewisporte/Gander School Board. During the course of her career, she was active in several teaching and literary organizations and served on the Board of Governors of College of the North Atlantic. Ms. Eveleigh has been deeply committed to the development of her town of Comfort Cove-Newstead and has served as a councillor, deputy mayor and mayor. She also served as a member of the 2006 Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.