Part II – Amendments to the Initial Report (March 12, 2013) – Newfoundland and Labrador – Introduction

The initial Report of the Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, dated November 15, 2012, was tabled in the House of Commons and referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs (the Committee) on November 26, 2012. Within the prescribed 30-day period, three objections to the report were filed with the clerk of the Committee. Two of the objections were with respect to the boundary between the electoral districts of St. John's East and St. John's South—Mount Pearl. The third objection was with respect to the name of the electoral district of Bay d'Espoir—Central—Notre Dame.

These objections were considered by the Committee at two of its meetings (nos. 56 and 57), and the Committee's considerations and recommendations on the objections are included in its Fortieth Report.

In accordance with subsection 22(3) of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, the report of the Committee, the objections, the minutes of proceedings and evidence of the Committee, and the report of the Commission were referred back to the Commission for consideration of the matter of the objections. The prescribed period for the consideration and disposition of the objections by the Commission is 30 days, ending on March 14, 2013.

Please note that this application does not work correctly in Internet Explorer 8. Please use a newer version of Internet Explorer or another browser such as Firefox or Chrome.